life in the Kearsarge area

what's happening in the Kearsarge/Lake Sunapee area of NH

Hello 2009!

Last year my New Year’s Resolution was to stop drinking Diet Coke. My one-can-a-day habit had turned into four or five cans a day, pushing out the healthier liquids like water, juice and milk. So on New Year’s Day, I didn’t have any soda. I didn’t the next day either, but I did have one heck of a migraine coming on. Over the week, the headache just got worse and I was really, really tired. My body actually ached. My mood was sour. My husband told me to take some pain relievers for the withdrawal symptoms but, what do you know, some brands have caffeine in them. I toughed it out for a month – much to the dismay of my family – before I felt normal again. I didn’t drink Diet Coke for another month or two, and then forgot about my resolution sometime in March.

I did not make any resolutions this year. It’s not that I’m perfect – far from it – it’s just that I don’t have the time to change anything right now. Terrible, right? I always hear that you need to make time for yourself first – schedule that hour of yoga or exercise or nap time into your schedule – and everything else will fall in around it. Well, let’s just say that with two small children, publishing 10 magazines a year, and four years down on a five-year business plan, I won’t be “first” for another year or two just yet. And that’s okay with me. I’ve got plenty of time to make resolutions to get organized, exercise, spend more time on home improvement projects, go to bed earlier, write a new business plan, etc. So when I make another New Year’s Resolution, maybe in 2010, I’ll ready to stick to it.

No comments yet»

Leave a comment